The William Tanner House Museum
Built in 1857, this Italianate-style house was the home to prominent merchant William Tanner and his family. The family owned the home until 1936 when it was donated to the Aurora Historical Society. The house was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
The house features high ceilings, oak grained woodwork, ornate plaster decoration, and antique furnishings. Visit us and take a step back into the Victorian era.
Hours & Admission
The Tanner House will open for the 2019 season on Sunday, June 2, 2019.
Free tours will begin at 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm, and 3:00 pm. Donations appreciated.
Location & Directions
The Tanner House Museum is located on the corner of Oak and Cedar (two blocks west of Route 31/Lake Street and two blocks north of New York Street.
304 Oak Avenue, Aurora, Illinois 60506